Who is the Average Honey? Part 2

14 Aug

Many of us read blog after blog after blog without knowing the expertise or personal background of the authors. I decided to open my book just a little bit more! Check out Part 1 here. Feel free to ask more questions here!

What’s a subject you wish you knew more about?

Politics. They are a beast of a subject – one that I often struggle to follow. Congressmen, senators, mayors, governors, the list goes on. Who does what? And why? Not only do I wish I could understand the political system in the U.S. more thoroughly, I wish I was better at office and relationship politics. It seems like everything always has some secret agenda. I feel as though my lack in political skills may set me back. But as I grow in my career, I know I will learn to develop these skills.

What’s the biggest personal change you’ve ever made?

Moving away from the East coast to live and work in West Virginia. Besides college, I’ve never lived more than two hours from my family and it has been incredibly difficult living 6 hours away from everyone. With birthdays, holidays and lifetime milestones, I’ve done a ton of traveling to try my best to keep my family ties strong and close-knit.

However, the move has made me a much stronger person. I have learned how to budget, how to communicate with folks in the healthcare industry (dealing with health insurance is NO FUN), how to argue better, how to negotiate prices (we bought furniture), how to make smarter decisions and how to cook a few things.

If you had to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what?

Pasta! As an Italian, I am perfectly happy eating pasta of all kinds. I’ll take it al dente or well done. Chef Boyardee or gourmet…doesn’t matter. Rigatoni, penne, linguine, ziti…YUM!

What makes you feel old?

The fact that I prefer to sleep or watch TV on a Friday night instead of go bar-hopping makes me feel so old. Two years ago I never would have missed a Friday night listening to loud music and having a blast with my girlfriends. Now, the thought of staying awake past midnight makes me feel exhausted. Although I get out on the town now and then, I do enjoy a cozy night in my home.

If six-year-old you was here right now, what would you say to her?

Don’t let your older cousin take all the good barbies and leave you with the beat up ones. Stand up for yourself! You deserve the pink RC Convertible car, not the blue one that’s missing a door.

Let's chat!

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Higher Ed Geek

Celebrating geeks and nerds on campus since 2013.

samantha{word}smith

Media talk from the post-grad point of view

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Fast Company

Planner. Organization Enthusiast. Coffee Lover. Dreamer.

