Professional Wardrobe: Spring Must-Haves

17 Mar

What a bipolar winter we’ve had! I’m starting to think this is how the world is just going to be forever…and ever. One day 65 degrees and partly cloudy, the next 27 and snowing. When will it end?!

In an effort to keep an open mind about this weather, I’ve started to prepare for my spring work wardrobe – and by that I mean I made a Pinterest board full of items my closet will probably never see. My fashion goals this spring are plain and simple: achieve a stellar outfit without having to work too hard…or iron. Then again, isn’t that every lady’s goal?

To get the looks I want, I’ll need a few essential pieces that I can pair with numerous other items already in my wardrobe. Here’s what I’m thinking:

Usually, polka dots aren’t my thing but with the pop of the bright aqua cardigan, they aren’t overwhelming. Key item: patterned blouse.

Before I ever had a blazer, I didn’t realize how much I was missing out. Blazers are lifesavers! They keep you warm AND you can put just about anything under them. My favorite: all my cute summer tanks that I never get to wear in winter. Top them with a blazer and I’m good to go! Key item: blazer.

Although I could never pull this off, I love this look! She looks so put together but fresh and free-spirited at the same time. Key item: striped pencil skirt.

You can’t beat this classic fitted dress. It has the perfect amount of professional and sexy. Plus, it goes with just about anything. Score! I’m loving the solid, quiet grey that allows the accessories to do the work for it. Key item: solid fitted dress.

Here’s a fun, easy look. She has a classy but edgy blazer with the color pop skirt. I’m thinking some coral somewhere in the outfit would have topped it all off. Key item: solid pencil skirt.

Since I work in West Virginia where the signature colors are old gold and blue, this outfit struck my eye. It was a great idea to pair the green statement necklace to add another element to the outfit. Key item: statement necklace.

Of course, I could go on for days and days about all the wardrobe items I need this spring but I’ll not bore you with my tired wardrobe desires.

So, what items or fashion trends are you trying to achieve this spring?

Let's chat!

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Higher Ed Geek

Celebrating geeks and nerds on campus since 2013.

samantha{word}smith

Media talk from the post-grad point of view

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Fast Company

Planner. Organization Enthusiast. Coffee Lover. Dreamer.

