Lessons in Living with the Opposite Sex

21 Oct

Although I’ve shared rooms with countless girls (ahh, college) living with my boyfriend has proved to be a completely different world. Let’s face it, men and women are just DIFFERENT!

Now that I’m in my new home, I feel inclined to put up decorations! After all, small decorations and good home cooking turn a house into a home. Since fall festivities are in full swing I’ve put up what I consider cute fall decorations. But some didn’t make the cut for the guys. “Too glittery” or “too girly” or “pointless” were their responses.

Lesson Learned: Don’t ask what he thinks about decorations. Just hang them.

Also, us girls…we shed…a lot! With long dark hair, the new shedding around our bedroom is something Vince isn’t used to. According to him, my hair is everywhere, even in between his toes (whoops!) So paying more attention to hair, especially in the shower drain, is extremely important now.

Lesson Learned: Pay attention to the hair I leave behind.

How do young men even survive on the food they eat? The freezer contains frozen pizzas, loaded hot pockets, and all kinds of processed junk while the cabinets hold snacks any 10-year-old would die for: Lays chips and Cocoa Puffs cereal. Making room for my fruits and vegetables wasn’t too difficult…what has been difficult is avoiding all that junk food that taunts me every time I open those doors!

Lesson Learned: Refrain from stuffing my face with snack foods.

There are TONS more lessons to be learned, I’m sure. These are the ones that have stood out in just four days.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Lessons in Living with the Opposite Sex”

  1. Kayla Hoffman October 21, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    So true! Umm… speaking of hair loss…it gets worse when you have a baby! You will have to peek at my page. It’s so bad! Thank goodness I have enough hair for six people or I would surely be bald. Take this lesson from me: if you want something done, leave DETAILED instructions or just do it yourself. haha

    • Honey October 22, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

      I’m definitely a do-it-yourself-er. He doesn’t take very well to instructions left behind. I’ll see what I can do!

Let's chat!

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Higher Ed Geek

Celebrating geeks and nerds on campus since 2013.

samantha{word}smith

Media talk from the post-grad point of view

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Fast Company

Planner. Organization Enthusiast. Coffee Lover. Dreamer.

