screencasting

3 Mar

Using Jing, a screencasting technology, I attempted to make a screencast in order to explain why I liked or followed another blog. I chose The Niche Movement because the blog was made by a Rutgers staff member who I think is extremely talented and brilliant when it comes to things like this. I won’t explain the blog because I really think students should take a look at it on their own. My screencast can be found here.

My experience with the screencast was really interesting. I realized a lot about my actual behavior when I’m looking at a website. For example, I roll the mouse around A LOT. It never just sits in one place until I’m ready to click on something. I’m absent-mindedly rolling the mouse around the screen for no apparent reason.

I also had that weird response that everyone has to hearing the sound of their own voice. It sounds awkward and uncomfortable but that’s probably because I felt a little uncomfortable talking to my computer.

Using the Jing software wasn’t an issue. My only trouble was sizing the screen for the shot. The first two times I did it, the video was just the top of my screen. I later realized I had to resize the screen. I figured it would do it automatically. Other than that, everything was self-explanatory which was great for a FREE program.

My screencast itself isn’t great because it was difficult to explain such a great site in a short period of time. I could have talked about the header, alone, for two minutes. But as far as using the technology, it was easy to use and will definitely be something I do in the future for my internship. Many sites are hard to navigate and using screencasts to provide visual walk-throughs on how to do things is an excellent product to have.

5 Responses to “screencasting”

  1. brosheth March 3, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    You are right, that is a pretty appealing blog. I like how you noticed your own behaviors while doing the assignment. made me curious about the things I do while visiting sites. I thought your screencast was good as well.

  2. vickipillori March 3, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    Your screencast came out very well. You navigate through a lot of different parts of the blog, which is really helps viewers a lot. You pointed out that after watching your screencast you noticed that you mouse moves around a lot. After watching my screencast, I noticed the opposite. I would start talking about a topic and move my mouse to point at the designated area, but then not move my mouse around after that. Overall, I really enjoyed your screencast and intrigues the viewers to further look into the blog

  3. Kristie Matson March 4, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    I really liked the website you chose! The layout was so aesthetically pleasing and clean looking. I agree with you, the color scheme is really modern and nice. I like how the blog front page cycles through a couple different pictures, which generates more interest. Overall I think you picked a great blog to show and I agree with all the reasons why the layout is so nice and easy to navigate.

  4. jonoftw March 4, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    The website you picked looks pretty awesome. Your screencast was thorough and I enjoyed how you toured the entire website and not just the blog. The layout is really simple and minimalistic which were most blogs and sites are going with their designs. Great job and thanks for introducing me to the site!

  5. Kristin March 4, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    I think your screencast was very successful. This was definitely a multifaceted website but you went through all the parts in a clear and accessible way. Definitely agree, great colors and layout, and you emphasized lots of key parts. Great job!

Let's chat!

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Higher Ed Geek

Celebrating geeks and nerds on campus since 2013.

samantha{word}smith

Media talk from the post-grad point of view

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Fast Company

Planner. Organization Enthusiast. Coffee Lover. Dreamer.

