i’mjustastupidgirl.mp3

20 Feb

My most recent project was an absolute blast. Sure it took some time to perfect but what project doesn’t? The assignment was to make a podcast or commercial for this wonderful blog of mine using GarageBand. As a new Mac owner, I’ve already played around with Garage Band before but never really explored it or tried to produce anything. This was my chance.

Working in GarageBand was actually really easy. Although I didn’t know what most of the editing options meant like Chorus or Noise Gate, I was able to click around and just listen.

I chose two songs that I felt totally represent myself and this blog and many 22-year-old chicks. The first was Stupid Girl by Garbage.

My mom used to play this song when I was young and I always loved it. Not to mention, it is a great song and has a nice long intro…perfect for a podcast!

The other song I used was Just a Girl by No Doubt.

This album was my third ever album to own following Robyn (a one-hit wonder of the 90’s) and the Backstreet Boys. As I’ve grown up, I’ve learned what this song is actually about. It’s perfect.

The most difficulty I had with using GarageBand was figuring out what the editing options did. It was hard just not knowing and having to keep clicking and listening, clicking and listening, clicking and listening. Slowly, I’ve learned, to an extent, what some of them do. Another difficulty I had was controlling the track volume with those little balls that appear as you make a change. It is so hard to click back on that ball again!

But after it all, I’m really excited about my end result. I think I’ll tweak it some more and repost eventually. The ability to work in GarageBand or any other audio editing software is a must in today’s society. Text and images simply don’t cut it. Employers will be thrilled to know that a job candidate feels comfortable behind a mic and also editing sounds. With a lot of companies advertising on Pandora and other online radio sites, this type of skill would be priceless.

If you didn’t notice it in the links above, check out my podcast here.

10 Responses to “i’mjustastupidgirl.mp3”

  1. brosheth February 21, 2013 at 3:03 am #

    Nice touch using Garbage, great song by them and your mom sounds cool. I also loved the use of No Doubt’s Just a Girl, it is my favorite No Doubt song, right after Don’t Speak obviously. You did a great job and I really enjoyed and your reasoning for picking the songs.

  2. Hannah Russo Makeup Reviews.... and Much More! February 21, 2013 at 7:09 am #

    I love your blog! I love the old Gwen! I love how it was nice and short and to the point. It was a good volume and you were very clear to understand. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK 🙂

  3. kamundsen10 February 22, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    i love Gwen!

  4. Kristie Matson February 23, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Just a Girl is such a great song for the topic of your blog, it just fits so well. I can tell you really thought about songs before you chose which ones to use. Your voice was really clear and easy to hear, which was great because I found in my recording, my voice got a little quieter between the music and I had to adjust it on Garageband.

    It’s so much fun to listen to watch the result of everyone’s hard work! You did awesome I couldnt pick anything that I would change!

  5. ryandowneyjr February 23, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    yeah so I’ll admit I was jamming out a bit to the No Doubt song. Awesome song choices and great job with the fading and voice-over!!

  6. alannakirschbaum February 24, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Loved your song choices! Great use of fade in and fade out, I also really enjoy the concept of your blog! I’ll have to keep reading to learn more about your “22 year old life”!

  7. mcstepz February 24, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    I like the sentiment of the first song that you incorporated as it was inspired by your my mom.Your editing was clean and the transitions were nice. Nice work!!

  8. Honey February 24, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Thanks everyone. You guys are awesome. I appreciate the comments 🙂

  9. missmarygrace February 25, 2013 at 1:02 am #

    I feel like everyone said the obvious, as in awesome song choices, blahdy blahdy blah. Like, so good. I’m pretty sure Tragic Kingdom was one of my first five or so albums. So it works very well with the non-theme theme of your blog, which is that you’re…just a girl, and this is yer life, plain and simple.

  10. chanteldle February 25, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    I really love the song choices. They were lively just like the header of your blog! The transition was great and your voice blended in well. Great job!

Let's chat!

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Higher Ed Geek

Celebrating geeks and nerds on campus since 2013.

samantha{word}smith

Media talk from the post-grad point of view

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Fast Company

Planner. Organization Enthusiast. Coffee Lover. Dreamer.

