offwithmyhead

14 Feb

At this point, we are all aware that my new header sucks. Needless to say, my experience designing this header was not the best. I sort of posted this one just because it looked the best out of the five or six different designs I worked with.

Using pixlr.com I wanted to create a header that was interesting, bright, and descriptive of my blog without using a photo of myself or revealing too much about my blog’s topic. The intention was to get people to experience a sense of curiosity. However, my current header:

Header

Probably says: leave this page.

I was able to get the hang of overlapping the two images after watching some tutorial videos. At first I assumed it was a simple as dragging one photo on top of the other. Clearly, I was wrong. The lasso tool became the devil. It was so difficult outlining the lady figure using my finger on a laptop keypad.

The only thing that came naturally was the idea of what to post as a header. I thought a picture of a honeycomb might be bright, interesting, and detailed while a silhouette of a woman on the run would describe my 22-year-old existence.

Eventually, I will change the header. Or maybe I’ll remove it. But for now, there it is.

Pixlr.com however is a great tool. I can use this for a bunch of different things. Obviously I need some training so it’ll be used purely for recreational/personal purposes for a while.

5 Responses to “offwithmyhead”

  1. Hannah Russo Makeup Reviews.... and Much More! February 16, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    AHAHHA your header is not horrible!! I like the honey combs in the back. I bet it took forever to find a picutre that was big enough to work with. This assignment was hard especially for people who have no idea what they were doing! I lost my work like 5 times because I kept looking for an image but forgot to change tabs so I went off the Pixlr account.

  2. jonoftw February 17, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Hey ! Great header! I’ve seen an few blogs with different headers but yours speaks to the name of your blog so much more. I think the overlay of the items is a good touch. I think photoshop would have made it a little cleaner but who has a few hundred dollars laying around to make a header?? Certaintly not me lol. SImple is almost always works and in this case this relally works for you.

  3. scarletknights928 February 17, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    I don’t think your header looks bad at all! Honestly, when I first started making banners and stuff, I thought it was hard and that everything I made looked horrible haha. You get better at it with practice. The only thing I’d change is maybe add some text, like the name of your blog, in a nice script font next to the images of the 3 women. I can’t really think of anything else πŸ™‚

  4. chanteldle February 17, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

    I actually really like the idea you took of using the honeycomb which is bright and vibrant with the top layer of the silhouettes. I think, as you mentioned, the overlapping and detail with the lasso tool can be touched up on to make it more fine tuned but I didn’t get the hang of Pixlr at first either. Overall I really like the idea and how you executed it.

  5. Honey February 17, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

    Thanks for the kind words and advice, everyone! I’ll keep it all in mind πŸ™‚

Let's chat!

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Higher Ed Geek

Celebrating geeks and nerds on campus since 2013.

samantha{word}smith

Media talk from the post-grad point of view

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

Single Dad Laughing by Dan Pearce

You! Keep being awesome!

Fast Company

Planner. Organization Enthusiast. Coffee Lover. Dreamer.

